At First Pres we strive to be a vibrant, welcoming inter-generational church family. We hope to be a spiritual home where people are inspired to discover a personal relationship with Jesus and experience God's Holy Spirit. 

Service Time: Sunday 10 am


Phone: (201) 652-2504 

722 East Ridgewood Ave 
Ridgewood, NJ 07450


Office Hours: Mon - Thur  9AM - 1PM


© 2020 First Presbyterian Church of Ridgewood, NJ - All Rights Reserved

  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Google+ Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon


After 20 years of serving the Lord our pastor retired in September.

A Transition Team (Interim Pastor Nominating Committee) was established by the Session in August 2016. Its members are Joan Davies, Donna Flagg, Sami Eliya, Jessica Strader, and Craig Walters.  After many months of dedicated searching, we are pleased to announce Rev. Bruce Ballantine will be our new Interim Minister starting April1, 2017.  Please join us for Worship at 10:00 AM and bear witness to this democratic "Presbyterian Process" and be one of the first to welcome a new Pastor to First Pres!

Prior to coming to Ridgewood, Rev. Ballantine has served as an installed or interim pastor in Oakmont and Burgettstown, PA; Weirton, WV; Wellsville, Youngstown and Wooster, OH; and most recently, in Morrisville, PA.  Bruce has sensed in recent years that God has called him to specialize in interim ministry. In his own words, “I believe God has wired me to be an Interim Pastor. I am energized by meeting new people, entering into new situations and meeting new challenges. I enjoy working with congregations during seasons of change, and I look forward to working with and serving the members and friends of First Pres!”

As Bruce begins his service to First Presbyterian Church, it is the fifth time he has served as an Interim Pastor.  He is a graduate of Grove City College, Grove City, PA, and Pittsburgh Theological Seminary. His experience within the Presbyterian Church (USA) includes ordination as a Deacon and Elder (prior to entering seminary); serving as the Pittsburgh Presbytery 1992 World Mission Intern in Zomba, Malawi; serving as a Theological Student Advisory Delegate to the 1993 General Assembly; as well as service on a number of presbytery committees and commissions.


Prior to entering ministry, Bruce worked as a reporter-photographer for a small newspaper; as a portrait photographer for a pictorial church directory company; and as a sales representative, sales manager and branch manager for an insurance company.

He spends his free time working out and walking; hiking, canoeing and kayaking; and reading fiction and non-fiction. His favorite authors include Dietrich Bonhoeffer, Eugene Peterson, Frederick Buechner, Anne Lamott, Philip Yancey, Ann Weems, Barbara Brown Taylor, Barbara Kingsolver, Edwidge Danticat, Michael Connelly and John Grisham.


We are blessed with the following Session members:

Ruling Elders:

Sandy Santangelo (Growth Committee)

Richard Davies (Endowment)

Carola Di Iorio  (Worship and Arts)

Ramzi Eliya (Mission)

Sami Eliya (Hospitality) (Technology)

Donna Flagg (Nominating)

Jessica Strader (Christian Education) (Technology)

Andy Castaldi (Personnel)

Marjorie Vanacore (Property)

Linda Strickland (Nursery School)

Rick Friedl (Finance)

Anita Hutton

Laura Magrath

Craig Walters

Clerk of Session:

Joan Davies


Deacons support the church and its membership in a variety of ways, particularly in serving those in need both within and beyond the community of faith.  Each Deacon serves an assigned geographic section of members in addition to his or her general responsibilities.  Deacons work on one or more of the following standing committees: Care, Communion, Flowers, Reception and Junior Deacons.  They also serve regularly as lay readers, communion servers, greeters and ushers and contribute to the church’s Caring Cooks Ministry. 

For 2018-2019, the active Deacons are:   Kathleen Barkho, Bonnie Brooks, Janice Cross, Carol Davidson, Sue Dickinson,                                                       Diane Eliya, John Eliya, Salwa Eliya, Sue Fischer, Janet Johnston, Evelyn Kender, Robert Morris, 

                                     Victoria Schnure, Mary Shaw, Sue Softka, Christine Tobias, Marcia Unger,  Rodger Yaden  


Please see attached brochure here.